GSJ 50th Anniversary Conference Opening Ceremony
From left, Dr Bob Garrett, Dr Murray Duke, Dr Simon Mitchell, Hon. Oliver Clarke, GSJ President Parris Lyew-Ayee, and Minister of Land & Environment, Hon. Dean Peart, MP.

GSJ 50th Anniversary Awardees - Past Presidents of the Society
From left: Mr Parris A. Lyew-Ayee (1980-82; 2005-current); Mr Anthony R. D. Porter (1974-76); Mrs Elsie Aarons (1984-85); Trevor Jackson (1988-90); Mr Godfrey Perkins (1986-87); Dr Tom Stemann (2004); Mr Ian Brown (2002-2003); Dr Vincent Hill (1970-71); Prof Edward Robinson (1966-68); Mr Michael Blackwood (1991); Mr John Williams (1972)
GSJ 50th Anniversary Conference  Banquet
Ruins, Mona Visitor's Lodge

The Geological Society of Jamaica (GSJ) 50th Anniversary Geological Conference was held in Kingston, Jamaica in December 2005. The Conference was dedicated to the exchange of information on all aspects of the geology of the Caribbean with special emphasis on Jamaican Geology. 

Papers were delivered on December 1st-2nd followed by a full day field trip on December 3rd and a half-day field trip on December 4th. 

Topics delivered included:

Stratigraphy and Sedimentology
Palaeontology and Palaeoecology
Igneous Petrology and Volcanology
Structural Geology and Metamorphism
Geoheritage and Tourism
Industrial Minerals and Economic Geology
Environmental Geology and Natural Hazards
History of Jamaican Geology
Coastal Geology
Medical Geology


Please contact GSJ for more information
Return to HOME